September 08, 2022

The Jimi Hendrix Experience: "Live at the Forum" in November

Live at the Forum will feature a complete version of The Jimi Hendrix Experience captured in full flight on April 26, 1969 in Los Angeles. The show was recorded by audio engineer Wally Heider and producer Bill Halverson back then. A truncated version came out as the fourth disc of Lifelines: The Jimi Hendrix Story set in 1990, with shortened tracks and omissions: Tax Free was edited , the final verse of Voodoo Child (Slight Return) medley was cut altogether, and no sign of Foxey Lady.. The latter can be found as a bonus track of the CD version of The Jimi Hendrix Concerts in 1989. The tracks for this release were remixed by longtime Hendrix producer/engineer Eddie Kramer.

Live at the Forum will be released on CD and as a 2LP in a gatefold sleeve on November 18. Sleeve notes by former LA Times staff writer/critic Randy Lewis and Billy Gibbons. And yes, the cover art is quite bad, but probably used as part of a settlement with the Noel Redding and Mitch Mitchell estates, a trend that started with the photo that was used for Paris 67 last year.

Side A

  1. Introduction
  2. Tax Free
  3. Foxey Lady

Side B

  1. Red House
  2. Spanish Castle Magic

Side C

  1. Star Spangled Banner
  2. Purple Haze
  3. I Don’t Live Today

Side D

  1. MEDLEY Voodoo Child (Slight Return) / Sunshine Of Your Love / Voodoo Child (Slight Return)


No comments:

Post a Comment