August 16, 2022

Nick Frater: Aerodrome Motel

Nick Frater

If you happened to run into English multi-instrumentalist Nick Frater puttering around in the aisles of a supermarket, singing into his smartphone, changes are you have overheard bits and pieces of one of the songs that ended up on his new album Aerodrome Motel. He loves to stack layers of instrumentation on his power-pop tinged material, but his voice comes first on this fresh batch of observations.

Frater positions himself as a fly-on-the-wall outsider - the soldier returning home in No Hard Feelings - a sociologist deciphering toilet graffiti in Rough & Tumble, as well as a critic of modern day society, where the debate has given way to shouting at each other from the deceptive safety of algorithm enhanced viewpoints (Dear Modern Times).

Lou Reed: early "Men of Good Fortune" demo from "Words & Music"

Another example of Lou Reed's early demos has hit the streaming services. This May 1965 version of Men of Good Fortune is folkie in a Bob Dylan kinda way, with a bit of harp thrown in for good measure. He is out of tune more often than not, It will be included on Words & Music on August 26 via Light In The Attic Records in conjunction with the Lou Reed Archive. Words & Music contains homemade lo-fi recordings of songs that would turn up on albums by The Velvet Underground and his solo output. John Cale features on some of the tracks as well. Men of Good Fortune would see the light of day on Berlin in 1973.

August 15, 2022

Phish 2022 Summer Tour SBD + torrents: East Troy 2022/08/14

East Troy poster by Tiffany Chin

Alpine Valley Music Theatre, East Troy, WI

Set 1:
  1. The Landlady
  2. Runaway Jim >
  3. Divided Sky
  4. 46 Days >
  5. Stealing Time From the Faulty Plan
  6. Sugar Shack
  7. Shade
  8. Halfway to the Moon
  9. Everything's Right

Johnny Dowd: playing "Blues" on acoustic guitar

Watch Johnny Dowd play some blues on acoustic guitar. It is pretty basic, but very enjoyable. The final shows fo his Saturday Night recedency @ The Downstairs in his hometown are coming up. He will be joined by some guests, helping him out with his unique brand of trashcan Americana and dark folk.