November 13, 2008

Phish: Walnut Creek

Phish performing Hello My Baby
Phish performing "Hello My Baby" at Walnut Creek

Back in 1997 Phish was slowly becoming a funk monster. After a short club tour of Europe they embarked on an USA summer tour of huge outdoor venues. On July 22, 1997, the Vermont quartet set up at Walnut Creek, Raleigh, NC, for a show that went down in Phish mythology because of the rain storm at the end of the first set, with the band playing along with the thunder the thunder and lightning during Taste.

Phish: Walnut Creek

The entire show was captured on film, and the 2-DVD Walnut Creek, gives the viewer an opportunity to watch what was going on stage and to hear the show in glorious 5.1 surround. Since this is basically a video capture of the lawn feed that was used for the big screens this DVD won't receive any prizes for smart directing. On numerous occasions the director is showing the wrong band member - you can hear Page starting a solo, or Fishman singing, but you can't see it.

The band was in good shape that night, They kicked off the second set which start with 20 minutes plus Down With Disease segueing into Mike's Song, Simple, I Am Hydrogen and Weekapaug Groove - playing without a pause for nearly an hour.

Add the rarely performed Vultures and a great take of Stash from the first set and you have a solid visual document of Phish in 1997. You can also buy the audio only version of the show.

  1. Runaway Jim
  2. My Soul
  3. Water In The Sky
  4. Stash
  5. Bouncing Around The Room
  6. Vultures
  7. Bye Bye Foot
  8. Taste
  1. Down With Disease
  2. Mike's Song
  3. Simple
  4. I Am Hydrogen
  5. Weekapaug Groove
  6. Hello My Baby
  7. When The Circus Comes
  8. Harry Hood

» Buy the 2-DVD | MP3 | FLAC


No comments:

Post a Comment