December 30, 2007

Patti Smith: new documentary, jumping on the iTunes band wagon

Patti Smith

Patti Smith keeps busy next year with the screening of new documentary, performing classic writings and a batch of digital releases. On January 8, she releases iTunes Originals exclusively on the download service, with new performances, previously released tracks and an interview. The 90-minute recording includes:

  • A Spring 2007 interview recorded at New York's Electric Lady Studio
    New studio recordings:
  • Pissing in the River
  • Ghost Dance
  • Peaceable Kingdom
  • Midnight Rider
  • Soul Kitchen
  • Smells Like Teen Spirit
    Previously released recordings:
  • Because the Night
    (original studio recording
  • Frederick
    (1996 digital remaster)
  • About a Boy
  • Beneath the Southern Cross
    (featuring Jeff Buckley & John Cale)
  • One Voice
  • My Blakean Year
    Live performance:
  • Gloria (In Excelsis Deo)
    (from the Royal Albert Hall, June 25, 2005

The documentary Patti Smith: Dream of Life, directed by Steven Sebring, will have its world premier on Sunday, January 20 at the Sundance Film Festival. In addition, Smith and her band will perform twice during the festival.

Finally, Patti Smith and others will perform works from Hans Christian Andersen, William Blake, Lewis Carroll, A. A. Milne, Rudyard Kipling, and Robert Louis Stevenson at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York on January 18, 2008.

(Thru: Vintage Vinyl News)

No comments:

Post a Comment