September 01, 2023

Johnny Dowd: new album "Is Heaven Real? How Would I Know" in October

Musical maverick Johnny Dowd will release his new album Is Heaven Real? How Would I Know on October 1. It will be his first vinyl record on which he goes for a Stax/Volt records sound: bluesy, jazzy and soulful. The tracks were recorded in Memphis at producer Bruce Watson's Delta-Sonic Sound.

Dowd's signature vocal delivery sits comfortably on top of the music made by his sister Jif Dowd (drums), Mike Edmondson (guitar), co-producer Will Sexton (guitar), Amy LaVere (bass, vocals), Rick Steff (piano), Alex Greene (organ, trombone), Jim Spake (reeds), Krista Lynne Wroten (fiddle, vocals) and percussionists Will McCarley and Shawn Zorn. His dark sense of humour comes to the fore in tracks like Ice Pick and LSD (in which Robert E. Lee makes an appearance).

Johnny Dowd: Is Heaven Real? How Would I Know

Is Heaven Real? How Would I Know will be available via Brightspark Records. The cover art was created by Jon Langford.

Live dates:
  • 09/11 Ithaca, NY @ Cherry Arts
    (WRFI presents w/ Quintron & Miss Pussycat)
  • 09/24 Ithaca, NY @ Porchfest Ithaca

Host a house party with Johnny
Johnny and his band will be on the road in Europe in March. Interested parties are encouraged to get in touch if they want them to perform at their house. Or send an email to Venue owners please use Here are the dates:

  • 03/11 and 03/12 between or near Barnoldwick, UK and Hassocks, UK
  • 03/19 between or near London, UK and Den Bosch, The Netherlands
  • 03/24 between Utrecht, Netherlands and Z├╝rich, Switzerland
  • 03/28 between Karlsruhe, Germany and Antwerp, Belgium


HCTF review of Johnny's tunes for Special Occasions.

No comments:

Post a Comment