September 20, 2023

Jimi Hendrix Experience: new album "Hollywood Bowl August 18, 1967" on November 10

A previously uncirculated concert by The Jimi Hendrix Experience will be released on November 10. Hollywood Bowl August 18, 1967 features the full set the trio performed as an opening act for The Mamas & the Papas, a mere five days before the US release of their debut album Are You Experienced.

They had lit up the stage at the Monterey Festival, but were struggling to advance any further in the States. They were kicked off a tour with the Monkees, one of the unlikeliest pairings ever. John Philips, who was one of the organizers of the festival, stepped in, and offered them the support slot for what would be the last show by the folk quartet.

Hollywood Bowl August 18, 1967 is available for preorder (vinyl, CD, digital) here. A fiery version of Killing Floor is now available on all the usual streaming services.

Side One:

1. Introduction"
2. "Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band"
3. "Killing Floor"
4. "The Wind Cries Mary"
5. "Foxey Lady"
6. "Catfish Blues"

Side Two:

1. "Fire"
2. "Like a Rolling Stone"
3. "Purple Haze"
4. "Wild Thing"


No comments:

Post a Comment