November 23, 2022

Earthset: Bound

Italian alt-rock/psychedelic band Earthset recorded the 11 tracks for their latest album Bound in a single take, not even pausing between tracks. It is a bold move that could easily have blown up in their faces, but they ended up with a full-length that rocks, soothes, teases, and grates.

It is best experienced as a whole, in order to fully appreciate the hills and valleys and the on stop creation of tension and release, but the songs can stand on their own as well. An accessible art rock piece like High Hopes can be followed by a Radiohead-inspired quiet-loud-quiet post-rock lament like Unspeakable Now and somehow it still fits. The intro of Tourists And Terrorists is almost pastoral, before they decide to shift gears and go head over in heels into metal/post-rock territory.

All tracks share the idea that connections and relationships can offer security, but those tend not to go the whole mile. The only certainty in life that there is no such thing as a permanent safe haven, but only a string of shelters along the way.

Ezio Romano: vocals, guitar
Luigi Varanese: bass, backing vocals
Costantino Mazzoccoli: guitar, backing vocals
Emanuele Orsini: drums, percussion

Earthset: Bound

Bound is a self-released album. Buy it from their website.

  1. Entering This Universe Coming Out Of A Blackhole
  2. Tourists And Terrorists
  3. Arpeggio
  4. Strings
  5. High Hopes
  6. Unspeakable Now
  7. The Mirror
  8. The Stranger's Eye
  9. Crossroads
  10. A Momentary Glance Of Simplicity
  11. Pills

The recording session was filmed and edited Elide Blind and Simone Tacconelli @ Vacuum Studio outside Bologna.

» Earthset on Facebook

HCTF review of L'Uomo Meccanico.

No comments:

Post a Comment