November 20, 2021

Mint Biscuit: The Chimes They Are A Tagine

The Chimes They Are A Tagine is the last album that Welsh guitarist Richard Thomas will release this year, wrapping up an extremely busy year for his one-man project Mint Biscuit. It is the first one that is a bit heavy on covers - the Jimi Hendrix classic Castles Made Of Sand, Gomez's Rie's Wagon and Reef's Come Back Brighter. Another first: he tries to sing on all three as well, with mixed results, but he has the courage to try to make these songs his loves his own.

Some of the original instrumentals hit hard, with the raucous rocker Force of Rabbit and another take on the distortion fest Mudwanging (previously released on Blues For The Red Cow) as the stand out tracks. Broadcast 26, a last minute addition to the album, is a less more exploration of chord sequences that proves that practicing a lot pays off in spades.

The Chimes They Are A Tagine is a self-released album. Buy it from his website.

  1. Castles Made Of Sand
  2. Plenty Of Cock, Einstein
  3. Coated In Mud
  4. Atlantic Highway Blues
  5. Rie's Wagon
  6. Mudwanging
  7. Force Of Rabbit
  8. Broadcast 26
  9. Come Back Brighter


HCTF review of Hand Over The Jam!

No comments:

Post a Comment