November 08, 2021

Low Horizon: Low Horizon

Houston, TX lo-fi rock trio Low Horizon have been in the rambling garage rock since 2014, releasing a handful of singles and EPs that struck a nerve with fans of off-kilter short songs. Their first full-length was recorded in fits and starts in 2020 and 2021. The band's songwriter John Gottlieb is a highly economical lyricist, and never beats aroung the bush. He is brutally honest at all times. Breakup song Over&over&over finds him in a particularly foul mood, : "my hair is a god damn wreck // and my life is a fucking mess // i’m not surprised you left // i was guessing what you want // sorry i’m wrong a lot".

The trio sounds muddy by design, as transistor radio of old. They wading through the tracks as if they being held back, but always managing to wrangle themselves free. The album ends four bonus Gottlieb solo tracks, recorded on his TASCAM 424mkIII 4-Track. Good lucking finding more intense bedroom recordings than these howls from the deep.

Low Horizon:
John Gottlieb: guitar, vocals, synth
Brandon T. Cane: guitar, synth
Jasmine Fuller: drums

Low Horizon: Low Horizon

Low Horizon is a self-released album. Buy it from their website.

  1. Running Late
  2. Mornings
  3. Wait
  4. Okay, Same
  5. 3am
  6. Yr Purse
  7. Two Days (Maybe)
  8. Over&over&over
  9. Chorus
  10. Goodbye
  11. Walk The Dog
  12. (Your Purse)
  13. (Wait... 29.705023, -95.426497)
  14. (2daze)
  15. (Garden)


HCTF review of Two Days EP.

No comments:

Post a Comment