May 24, 2021

The Catenary Wires: Birling Gap

The Catenary Wires

English indie pop band The Catenary Wires serve up a dish of nostalgia and melancholy on their new album Birling Gap, mixing the melodies of 60s psychedelica and 80s New Wave. Originally a duo comprising of Amelia Fletcher and Rob Pursey they are now a full band that can build intricate songs with spot on vocal harmonies. The songs are like hand-coloured postcards from their travels and adventures. Whether they are singing about feeling a bit lost (Liminal) or trying to make the first move at a dance (Mirrorball), they always find a melody that sounds both familiar and brand new.

Getting older and not minding that so much is the main theme on this album that is quintessentially English: stylish pop that will appeal to fans of the Zombies, The Foreign Films and the Sundays. The Catenary Wires are as perfectly balanced as the mathematical curve after which they named themselves.

The Catenary Wires:
Amelia Fletcher: vocals, harmonium
Rob Pursey: vocals, guitar
Fay Hallam: Hammond organ, backing vocals
Ian Button: drums, backing vocals
Andy Lewis: bass, production

The Catenary Wires: Birling Gap

Birling Gap is released via their own label Skep Wax (UK + ROW) and Shelflife Records (USA). Release date: May 28.

  1. Face On The Rail Line
  2. Alpine
  3. Always On My Mind
  4. Mirrorball
  5. Three Wheeled Car
  6. Liminal
  7. Canterbury Lanes
  8. Cinematic
  9. Like The Rain
  10. The Overview Effect

UK live dates:
  • 09/03 The Thunderbolt, Bristol
  • 09/04 The Amersham Arms, London
  • 09/10 The Oast Community Centre, Rainham
  • 09/12 Prince Albert, Brighton
  • 09/24 Fusion Arts Centre, Oxford
  • 09/25 The Tin At The Coal Vaults, Coventry


No comments:

Post a Comment