March 26, 2021

A Cheery Wave From Stranded Youngsters: Volume IX

UK label A Cheery Wave Records has been providing an outlet for the post-rock underground since 2010. Volume IX of their A Cheery Wave From Stranded Youngsters is special, because it only features bands that have split up an it is the first one that will be released in physical formats (CD, cassette).

As a genre post-rock is mostly guitar-driven, rubbing shoulders with metal and progressive rock, and spawning math-rock as the current most popular sub-genre. Vocals are optional- the instruments do the talking - and alternate tunings commbined with time signatures that tend to avoid 3/4 and 4/4. This collection of song is for the open-minded and musos, nodding to the towering Something Of Summers Past by Goonies Never Say Die and go with the flow of Frightened Ones by A Genuine Freakshow (the uninitiated could be tricked by telling them it is a Clannad B-side).

A Cheery Wave From Stranded Youngsters: Volume IX will be released on April 2. The CD and Cassette versions include an exclusive live track by A Genuine Freakshow which is not available anywhere else.

  1. Double Handsome Dragons - My Favourite Animal Is The White Werewolf
  2. The Rock of Travolta - 24 Frames Per Second
  3. And The Earth Swarmed With Them - It Will Begin Again
  4. A Genuine Freakshow - Frightened Ones
  5. Kasper Rosa - You Fool, Warren Is Dead!
  6. obe - Drop C Life Centre
  7. Goonies Never Say Die - Something Of Summers Past
  8. Monsters Build Mean Robots - A Town Called Tourettes
  9. 52 Commercial Road - Ash
  10. ...And Stars Collide - Every Step Takes Me Further From Home (Part II)
  11. He Was Eaten By Owls - Inchoate With The Light Go I pt. III (feat. Loraine James)
  12. Glissando - The Long Lost

» A Cheery Wave on Facebook

No comments:

Post a Comment