February 14, 2021

Kimon Kirk: Altitude

Songwriter and producer Kimon Kirk is driving just a bit South of the mainstream on his new album Altitude. Most of it is easy on the ears, only exposing its musical complexity after a more thorough inspection. He is best known as a sideman and composer for artists like Aimee Mann and Lori McKenna, having a knack to create a tune that appeals to fans of West Coast country-tinged rock. Setting aside songs for a solo album was never high on his to do list, but when he did finally get around to do so the creative juices started flowing.

Midtempo rockers (Evergreen, Trampoline and ballads (What Do I Know, Halfway Right) are his forte, but the real gems are the two short instrumentals, interlude and reprise, both of them not mere linking pieces but sonic explorations that deserve to be developed more fully and incorporated into his "proper" songs. Aimee Mann fans will be pleased that he added the duet Baby Who Knows they recorded for a single in 2017.

Kimon Kirk: vocals, guitar, bass
Lyle Brewer: lead guitar
Jamie Edwards: keyboards
Jim Haggerty: bass
John Sands: drums

Altitude is a self-released album. Release date: February 19. A virtual album release party is hosted by Passim Streams on February 18 @ 8PM EST.

  1. Evergreen
  2. Trampoline
  3. Stranded
  4. What Do I Know
  5. I Think of You
  6. interlude
  7. Baby Who Knows
  8. The Girl I Used To Know
  9. Failed Myopic
  10. Halfway Right
  11. reprise
  12. My Old Neighborhood

» kimonkirk.com

No comments:

Post a Comment