December 21, 2020

mtf8: Momentum

At first NYC Gothic rock act mtf8 considered unveiling the tracks of his new EP Momentum as separate singles, but on seocnd thought he did not want the hassle of getting the word out five times in a row. In hindsight releasing them in one big swoop actually make more sense, because all the songs share the same emotion: getting out from under a dark cloud. The bass aims for the gut and the vocals go straight for the brain, making it an intense listening exercise. Once again producer Charlie Nieland was on hand to play bass and lead guitar.

Bookended by the two parts of the rather optimistic of Purity the darkness is the deepest in his cover of the Christian Death track Cavity. The spoken words are almost buried in the staric electronics of Submotion, acting as persuaders. The music on Momentum moves slowly, but can't be stopped. It is best to ride the wave, wondering if it will crash of keep going for a bit longer.

mtf8: Momentum

Momentum is a self-released album. Buy it from his website.

  1. Purity
  2. The Coming Storm
  3. Cavity
  4. Submotion
  5. Purity (Remembered)


HCTF review of Regress.

No comments:

Post a Comment