June 24, 2020

Marynka: Red Moon

photo: Marcel van der Vlugt

Red Moon, the new album by Amsterdam based Russian musician Marynka, is labeled as "instant music for piano". Recorded in just one night during a lunar eclipse on July 27, 2018, she let her fingers and the instrument do the talking. Minimalistic, coming close to the Romantic tradition the notes came slowly, but firmly.

Most pianos are tuned to 440 Hz, but she went with the old school 432 Hz, which in some circles is considered to be more in sync with the universe and have a soothing, calming effect. There is no scientific proof for this - changes are that most people won't even notice it, but with trained ears and a decent audio set-up the difference is clear. Marynka is a bit of mystic, but all claims aside Red Moon is an album where her on the spot creations were captured beautifully by the eight microphones that werd set up by producer and engineer Attie Bauw.

Red Moon is a self-released album (CD, digital). Buy it from her website. Release date: June 26.

  1. Heartbeat
  2. Byzantion
  3. Swan Cloud
  4. Landscape
  5. Still
  6. Prelude
  7. Winter
  8. Theater
  9. Dismay Waltz
  10. Blizzard
  11. Thread
  12. Sadness
  13. Spiral to Heaven

Live date:
  • 06/26 Amsterdam, Netherlands @ Atelier Schinkel

» marynkanicolai.com

No comments:

Post a Comment