March 31, 2020

Lexytron: Something Blue

When Lexytron started recording the songs for her debut album Something Blue she was living in Manchester, but about half way she packed up her things and moved to Auckland in New Zealand. The new environment did not change her outlook on life that much and her "alternative girl's guide to love, loss and lust" is a coherent psych-pop album, upbeat with razor-sharp observations about in being your early twenties: lovers walking out, betrayal, feeling lonely when the world is dancing around and of course the Couples parading their new found happiness in front of her eyes.

Her training as a classical violinist and pianist came in handy and there plenty of bits and pieces in her songs that get the listener on the wrong foot in a good way. Check the intricate arrangements for The Veil Of Veronica and In The Box. Lexytron has found her voice on the first try, a debut that is filled to the rafters with talent and a sardonic sense of humour.

Lexytron: vocals, violin and piano
Mike Grice: guitar, bass, synths and percussion
Marco Meloni: backing vocals on tracks 5, 7 and 11, guitar on track 5 and 9 and additional instruments on track 11

Something Blue is a self-released album. Buy it from her website.

  1. Blackmail
  2. I'm Not A Disco
  3. Blue
  4. Couples
  5. Intermittent
  6. 21.5
  7. The Veil Of Veronica
  8. In The Box
  9. Brand New
  10. Tell The Vein
  11. Gypsy Blue

» Lexytron on Facebook

No comments:

Post a Comment