October 28, 2019

Matty T Wall: Transpacific Blues Vol. 1

Australian blues singer and guitarist Matty T Wall has a fluid tone that is tailor made for playing the classics from the genre. Transpacific Blues Vol. 1 has eight songs from the canon and he managed to add something extra to each one. As an added bonus he invited five fellow guitarists- Eric Gales, Kirk Fletcher, Dave Hole, Kid Ramos and Walter Trout - to whip up some pretty sweet call-and-response six string duets.

This is an album that sounds like it was recorded a couple of decades ago: great dynamics and in-your-face playing like the musicians are right in front of the listener. With a running time of a little more than 35 minutes a vinyl release is a no-brainer, but for now the CD will do just fine.

Matty T Wall: guitar, vocals
Stephen Walker: bass
Ric Whittle: drums

Transpacific Blues Vol. 1 is a self-released album. Buy it from his website.

  1. Boom Boom (feat. Dave Hole)
  2. Hi Heel Sneakers (feat. Eric Gales)
  3. Quicksand (feat. Kid Ramos)
  4. She’s Into Something (Feat. Walter Trout)
  5. Stormy Monday
  6. Born Under A Bad Sign (feat. Kirk Fletcher)
  7. I’m Tore Down
  8. Crossroads

Live dates:
  • 11/01 Perth, Australia @ WAMfest
  • 11/03 Perth, Australia @ The Basso Sunday Smash – Bassendean Hotel
  • 11/06 Bendigo, Australia @ The Bendigo Blues & Roots Music Festival

» mattytwall.com

No comments:

Post a Comment