May 20, 2019

Charly Bliss: Young Enough

Charly Bliss are a Brooklyn based band playing the kind of deceptive power pop that once made Weezer a great band. Unlike those guys they show no signs of slowing down and their sophomore album Young Enough is once again filled with short and fast songs that would be labeled as bubblegum pop, until the meaning of the lyrics sinks in, and it becomes clear that is a band that doesn't take shit from anybody.

Lead singer Eva Hendricks with her Cyndi Lauper-alike phrasing, has all the trappings of great front woman, and she plays a mean rhythm guitar as well. Somewhere in the shadows Courtney Love is sulking, green with envy.

Charly Bliss:
Eva Hendricks: vocals, guitar
Sam Hendricks: drums, percussion
Spencer Fox: guitar, vocals
Dan Shure: bass, vocals

Young Enough is released via Lucky Number.

  1. Blown To Bits
  2. Capacity
  3. Under You
  4. Camera
  5. Fighting In The Dark
  6. Young Enough
  7. Bleach
  8. Chatroom
  9. Hurt Me
  10. Hard To Believe
  11. The Truth


No comments:

Post a Comment