April 08, 2017

Matt Hannah: Dreamland

Matt Hannah showed a lot of promise on his debut album Let the Lonely Fade. His new one, Dreamland, is the work of a musician who is comfortable with being a country-esque Americana singer. He got a new band and enlisted two guys who can play bass, ensuring that the songs have a solid backbone - he needed that to ground all those guitars.

Hannah's gravely voice serves as a nice contrast for the sweet sound of Aaron Fabbrini's pedal steel. The songs have a lazy swing quality - drummer JT Bates playing with brushes certainly helps. Dreamland is an optimistic alum. His lyrics are straightforward and devoid of metaphors or hyperboles. Hannah knows where he is going: to an even better future, with his significant other by his side. That may sound superficial or even cheesy, but it's honest.

Matt Hannah; guitar, vocals
JT Bates: drums, percussion
Erik Koskinen: electric guitar, 12-String electric guitar
Ian Allison: bass
Aaron Fabbrini: pedal Steel, upright Bass
Matt Patrick: electric guitar, Hammond organ, accordion, vocals

Dreamland is released via Gamine Records.

  1. Dreamland
  2. Broken Hearts and Broken Bones
  3. Dandelion
  4. Banks of the Mississippi
  5. Set Free
  6. The Night is My Home
  7. Different Kind of Light
  8. Something in the Air
  9. Gone
  10. Morning Song

Live dates:
  • 04/09 House of Mercy, St Paul, MN
  • 06/02 Coffee Hag, Mankato, MN
  • 06/16 The Root Note, La Crosse, WI
  • 07/09 Art Fair in the Square, Madison WI
  • 07/28 The Interchange, Albert Lea, MN
  • 08/10 Minnehaha Falls @ Music in the Parks, Minneapolis, MN

» matthannahmusic.com

HCTF review of Let the Lonely Fade.

No comments:

Post a Comment