September 18, 2015

Oh Thunder: Oh Thunder

photo: Rijno Boon

Dutch quintet Oh Thunder ignores all musical boundaries on their self-titled debut album. The harp and trombone taking center stage is pretty rare in popular music and the same goes for blending jazzy vocals with upfront percussion and keyboards. Lead singer Rosalie Wammes has the lazy, melancholic phrasing of the late Fourties, singing about saying goodbyes, reincarnation and hidden cruelty being mistaken for innocence. Soft-spoken but strong.

This is an album for Sunday brunches. It is a hybrid of acoustic instruments and modern technology, analog making friends with the digital realm. Oh Thunder is an act for people who can keep their mouth shut during a live show, so it's no wonder that their current itinerary focuses on in-stores and theaters.

Oh Thunder:
Rosalie Wammes: harp, vocals
Oliver Emmitt: trombone, keyboards
Patrick Rugebregt: keyboards
Willem van der Krabben: drums
Dario Schattel: bass

Oh Thunder is a self-released album. Buy it from their website. Release date: September 25th.

  1. Intro
  2. Parade
  3. Out Of Place
  4. Bull
  5. Haven
  6. Naïve
  7. Tangle
  8. City Spell
  9. Grey For Goodbye

Live dates:
  • 09/25 Amsterdam, The Netherlands @ A Lab (album release party)
  • 10/10 Amsterdam, The Netherlands @ Concerto (in-store 15:00)
  • 10/10 Culemborg, Netherlands @ Theater aan de Slag
  • 10/11 Deventer, The Netherlands @ Plato (in-store 14:30)


No comments:

Post a Comment