May 31, 2015

The Brighton Beat: Brooklyn Bowl - 4​/​5​/​15

Funky Afrobeat big band The Brighton Beat always feels at home on the stage of the Brooklyn Bowl in New York. They released a recording of their April 5, 2015 show. An appreciative audience inspired them to stretch the tracks from their latest album Off We Go, vamping on the choruses and bringing them to a close way beyond the ten minutes mark.

Live music can be transcending experience when the crowd an the band lock into a groove and that happens more than once during the show, especially during Fortune Teller and Red Orange. They filled out the set with a notable funkified covers Debra (Beck) Swinging From The Rafters (John Tabacco), Mr. Clean (Freddie Hubbard).

Brooklyn Bowl - 4​/​5​/​15 is a self-released album. Buy it from the band's website. As per usual the FLAC version is served up in HD (24/48).

  1. Stand With The Herd Parts 1+2
  2. Green Monster
  3. Changing Elevators
  4. Fortune Teller
  5. Swinging From The Rafters
  6. Giraffe -> Debra
  7. Red Orange
  8. Hit The Bricks
  9. Mr Clean
  10. Off We Go

Live dates:
  • 06/14 Daryl's House, Pawling, NY
  • 06/19 Blue Note Jazz Club, New York, NY
  • 06/25 Stella Blues, New Haven, CT
  • 06/27 Olives, Nyack, NY
  • 06/28 Peekskill Brewery, Peekskill, NY
  • 08/21 Shrine, New York, NY
  • 08/30 Peekskill Brewery, Peekskill, NY
  • 09/25 Clayton Jazz Fest, Clayton, NY


HCTF review of Off We Go.

No comments:

Post a Comment