April 07, 2015

Waterstrider: Nowhere Now

photo: Ginger Fierstein

Oakland eclectics Waterstrider released an impressive slew of singles (Redwood, White Light, Calliope and Nowhere Now)and now it's time for their first full-length Nowhere Now. It's an all-you-can-eat album that leaves no nasty aftertaste. They have cooked a spicy mix of Afrbobeat, psychedelic West Coast pop, rock guitar, jazz, mesmerizing soundscapes and falsetto vocals.

With love and the sea as the prominent themes of their lyrics it is tempting to pigeonhole them as a naive, neo-hippie outfit. Listen more closely and you'll find that their music is complicated, delicately structured and weird like MC Escher drawing - with themes and licks running into dead ends that are not there after all. Acts like Tame Impala and The Flaming Lips should seriously consider them as an opening act.

Nate Salman: vocals, guitar
Drew Brown: guitar, synth
Scott Brown: bass
Brijean Murphy: percussion
Walker Johnson: drums

Nowhere Now is a self-released album. Buy it from Bandcamp (includes bonus track Give Me My Name) or pre-order via iTunes.

  1. White Light
  2. Redwood
  3. Soundless Sea
  4. Passing Ships
  5. Just a Taste
  6. Calliope
  7. New Sun
  8. Zomoskepsis
  9. Nowhere Now
  10. Black Blood
  11. Give Me My Name (Bandcamp only)

Live dates:
  • 04/30 San Francisco, CA @ Rickshaw Stop (w/ In The Valley Below)
  • 05/28 Oakland, CA @ Leo's

» waterstridermusic.com

HCTF review of Calliope.

No comments:

Post a Comment