March 11, 2014

Mother Falcon: MF Computer

Mother Falcon
photo: Bryan Rindfus

Austin collective Mother Falcon tried their hand at covering Radiohead's OK Computer from start to finish. Quite a project and it could have turned into rearranging nightmare. They pulled it off, safe for the vocals in the challenging Exit Music (For A Film) when they came up short reaching the high notes.

Recorded live without a safety-net MF Computer transports the UK Weltschmerz of the original to the Concert Hall. All done with respect for the originals, the collective alternated between full-on symphonic treatments and simple banjo, guitar or piano accompaniment. Performing the songs was an adventure and, from a musician's point of view, it has a happy ending.

Mother Falcon: MF Computer

MF Computer is a self-released album. Release date: March 18th. Pre-order on iTunes or Bandcamp.

  1. Airbag
  2. Paranoid Android
  3. Subterranean Homesick Alien
  4. Exit Music (For A Film)
  5. Let Down
  6. Karma Police
  7. Fitter Happier / Electioneering
  8. Climbing Up The Walls
  9. No Surprises
  10. Lucky / The Tourist

Live dates:
  • 03/12 Austin, TX @ Spider House Ballroom, "UNITY Party" (5.30 pm)
  • 03/13 Austin, TX @ Central Presbyterian Church, "Red Ryder Official Showcase" (11.30 pm)
  • 03/14 Austin, TX @ Four Seasons Hotel Austin
  • 03/15 Austin, TX @ Peckerheads on 6th St, "The Future of Pop Music" (3 pm)
  • 03/15 Austin, TX @ Austin Convention Center, "Brooklyn Vegan Presents Flatstock" (5.30 pm)
  • 03/26 Austin, TX @ Spider House Ballroom
  • 03/27 Austin, TX @ Spider House Ballroom


No comments:

Post a Comment