February 09, 2014

Fit and the Conniptions: Sleeping Beauty

Twelve years ago Wayne Myers, main man of UK indie folk band Fit and the Conniptions was trying to finish an album called Sleeping Beauty. In the midst of emotional turmoil, the project was shelved. A few tracks surfaced on the Bush Of Thorns EP, but that was it. He dug out the stems and decided he would release the album without messing around with the original recordings. Just a newly recorded cello part for Mistress Song and a fixed guitar part for Bush Of Thorns.

Sleeping Beauty is more jazzy than their 2010 album Sweet Sister Starlight - thanks to the brass skills of Kevin Davy in songs like.When The Penny Dropped and Irish Coffee Blues. Myers has always been a keen observer of his surroundings and he manages to tell a full story in less than two minutes in The Ghost Of Emma Goldman. As a DIY comic artist he knows that every word counts.

Fit and the Conniptions:
Wayne Myers: guitar, bass guitar, vocals
Brian Hedemann: drums (tracks 1, 2, 6, 7, 8)
Kevin Davy: trumpet, flugelhorn (tracks 3, 6, 7, 8)
Alero Scott: backing vocals (tracks 1, 2, 4, 7)
Danny Keane: cello (track 5)

Sleeping Beauty is a self-released album. Buy it (pay-what-you-want) from the band's website. The CD version will be available on 21st of April.

  1. Bush Of Thorns
  2. Sleeping Beauty And The Beast
  3. Dark Eyes
  4. The Ghost Of Emma Goldman
  5. Mistress Song
  6. When The Penny Dropped
  7. Chez Tina
  8. Irish Coffee Blues

» conniptions.org

HCTF review of Sweet Sister Starlight.

No comments:

Post a Comment