November 05, 2013

Eddie West: Natural Philosophy

Country-tinged folk singer Eddie West goes electric on his new EP Natural Philosophy. His longtime collaborator George Milly takes care of the bulk of the lead guitar parts. Does this imply that he has gone much louder? Not really. West still pens tender songs and has retained the intimacy of his 2010 self-titled full-length. The drums feature rather prominently - in fact it wouldn't have hurt to turn them down a bit.

With his halting vocals West sounds a bit unsure at times, but the mix puts him right in front to the listener. If you are into homemade lo-fi Americana, Natural Philosophy is a nice addition to your collection. Neil Young fans will like The Light

Eddie West: electric guitar
George Milly: electric guitar
Patrick Southern: bass
Sean Hutchinson: drums
Bhauran Avhad: keyboards

Eddie West: Natural Philosophy

Natural Philosophy is a self-released album. Buy it (pay-what-you-want) from his website.

  1. Meditation
  2. Eyeshadow of Gold
  3. Candy Mae
  4. The Light
  5. Search
  6. Flower Season

» Eddie West on Facebook

HCTF review of Eddie West.

No comments:

Post a Comment