March 14, 2010

Eddie West: Eddie West

Folk music with a conscience. Singer-songwriter Eddie West cares about the environment. His debut album doesn't merely preach to the converted. Sure, they are songs about farming (Fix the Tractor and In the Morning of the Earth), but he also writes about folk and bluegrass staples such as bad guys (Inlaw Joe) and travel (Hit the Road).

The singer from Phoenix, AZ, is still a bit shy and his voice needs a bit of depth, but his composition skills are full-grown. Producer and multi-instrumentalist Marty Rifkin adds some great pedal steel, Dobro, banjo, bass and drums. The "odd" track is Cannon, which sounds like a demo recording slowly rising from a noodling tuning guitar tidbit into a lovely melody that doesn't need any words after all. It is a musical path that he should explore more on the next record.

Eddie West: Eddie West

Eddie West is a self-released album. Buy it from CD Baby.

  1. Fix the Tractor
  2. Maybe Long Beach
  3. Love
  4. In the Morning of the Earth
  5. Heartstrings
  6. Dag
  7. Hit the Road
  8. Inlaw Joe
  9. Taft Hill
  10. Cannon
Live date:
  • 03/22 The Talking Stick, Venice, CA


No comments:

Post a Comment