October 27, 2012

DeVotchKa: DeVotchKa Live With the Colorado Symphony

photo: Stephanie Gibson

Denver band DeVotchKa have been known for their orchestral sound, even as a four piece. It made perfect sense to join forces with the Colorado Symphony to perform at show at the Red Rocks Amphitheatre on September 20, 2012. The band's resident genius Tom Hagerman locked him self in to write all the arrangements for the 60-piece ensemble. The show was recorded and is now available on DeVotchKa Live With the Colorado Symphony, the band's first official live document since the long out-of-print self-released 2002 Triple X Tango .

Most the material for the concert was taken from their latest studio album 100 Lovers, but they also dug out some nuggets from their back catalog, Queen Of The Surface Streets, of their 2003 album Una Volta, finally gets the big sound they were aiming for. They ended the set with their only hit song, How It Ends, the title track from their 2004 album that was used for Little Miss Sunshine soundtrack.

For DeVotchKa performing with an orchestra was the fulfillment of a vision they had been chasing for years. With the superb natural acoustics of Red Rocks - check out the bass in The Enemy Guns and the accordion in Firetrucks On The Boardwalk, and the orchestra tearing it up during Comrade Z - this album even sounds great even when played over crappy PC speakers.

Nick Urata: vocals, theremin, guitars, piano, trumpet
Tom Hagerman: violin, accordion, piano
Shawn King: drums, percussion, trumpet
Jeannie Schroder: sousaphone, upright bass, vocals

DeVotchKa: DeVotchKa Live With the Colorado Symphony

DeVotchKa Live With the Colorado Symphony is released on Cicero Recordings LTD. Pre-order it the band's webshop. The band will sign and personalize all pre-orders. Release date: November 13.

  1. The Alley
  2. The Clockwise Witness
  3. Along The Way
  4. The Common Good
  5. You Love Me
  6. All The Sand In All The Sea
  7. Firetrucks On The Boardwalk
  8. Comrade Z
  9. Undone
  10. Queen Of The Surface Streets
  11. We're Leaving
  12. Contrabanda
  13. The Enemy Guns
  14. How It Ends

Live dates:
  • 10/26 Boulder, CO @ Boulder Theater
  • 10/27 Boulder, CO @ Boulder Theater
  • 11/29 Santiago, Chile @ Common Pitch Chile
  • 12/01 Buenos Aires, Argentina @ Personal Fest
  • 12/31 Anchorage, AL @ Bear Tooth Theatre and Pub

» devotchka.net

No comments:

Post a Comment