April 10, 2012

Everyone Orchestra: Brooklyn Sessions

Conductor Matt Butler has a vision. Assemble a group of musicians who know how to jam and steer them, ever so gently, through blues, rock, funk and jazz. The Everyone Orchestra is a musical roundabout - the line-up changes all the time - so when the latest incarnation got together for a few days in NYC, they jumped on the possibility to record an album. Brooklyn Sessions is an album that was made up on the spot, inventing grooves and licks as they went along.

Jon Fishman (Phish), Marco Benevento, Al Schnier (moe.), Jen Hartswick (Trey Anastasio Band), Jeff Coffin (Dave Mathews Band), Steve Kimock, and Reed Mathis (Tea Leaf Green, 7 Walkers), Jans Ingber and Jamie Masefield took part in the sessions, focusing on funk with a bit of jazz, blues and gospel. These are musicians with an open ear, who only need a blink of eye to catch on what's likely to happen next. Some of the the songs have grown out of a jam like the scifi-fi explorations of Explore Space and Bass Blanket, others are more straightforward like the sexy funk outing Take Off Your Clothes, the acoustic instrumental Pensive and the album's closer, the blues ballad Talk To Me.

Everyone Orchestra: Brooklyn Sessions

Brooklyn Sessions is released on Harmonized Records. Release date: May 15.

  1. Boots
  2. Explore Space
  3. Hold Tight
  4. Bass Blanket
  5. Funk Explosion
  6. Take Off Your Clothes
  7. Pensive
  8. Talk To Me
Live dates:
  • 04/21 Sweetwater Music Hall, Mill Valley, CA
  • 05/25 Summer Camp Music Music Festival, Chillicothe, IL
  • 07/20 All Good Music Festival @ Legand Valley, Thornville, OH

» everyoneorchestra.com

No comments:

Post a Comment