March 18, 2012

The Moog: Seasons In The Underground

The Moog
photo: Kristof Németh

Hungarian pop rockers The Moog have a new album out on April 10th: Seasons Change In The Underground. Sounding more fuzyy and rough-and-the-edges than their 2009 album Razzmatazz Orfeum, this new batch of song s contains the urgency that was lacking on its predecessor. They kept the layered Sixties vocals while at the same time bringing the drums a bit more to the fore in the mix.

They enlisted producer Ken Scott, whoo was the man in charge for Bowie's Hunky Dory, The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars and Aladdin Sane. Not as idiosyncratic as the Thin White Duke, The Moog tend to stick to what they know best: melodic pop drenched in synths that sound very Eighties - they overdo it during Run. I Wanna Take You To Paris is a sunny pop ditty that has Summer hit written all over it. The fast and slow version of We Walk In are like two sides of the coin, the fast one relying on a fat-paced drum beat and the slow one a soft piano rocker with a shy glam rock guitar trying to sneak in.

The Moog have grown musically. With Seasons In The Underground they are branching out with a garage rocker (Highway) and Depeche Mode type ballad (Call Me Up).

The Moog:
Tonyo Szabo: vocals, keyboards
Adam Bajor: guitar
Miguel Gyorgy: guitar
Csaba Szabo: bass
Gergo Dorozsmai: drums

The Moog: Seasons In The Underground

Seasons In The Underground is released on MuSick Recordings. Release date: April 10th.

  1. Seasons Change In The Underground
  2. We Walk In Fast
  3. I Wanna Take You To Paris
  4. Highway
  5. Call Me Up
  6. Run
  7. I Can't Wait
  8. No Time To Turn Around
  9. We Walk In Slow
  10. March Of The Unholy Truth
  11. Hey Little Bird


HCTF review of Razzmatazz Orfeum.

No comments:

Post a Comment