December 31, 2011

Phish: new archival release "12/31/91, Worcester Memorial Auditorium (The New Aud), Worcester, MA"

Twenty years ago Phish performed at Worcester Memorial Auditorium (The New Aud), Worcester, MA. The show is now available as a 3-set digital download and on-demand CD through

Phish had a busy year in 1991, signing a record deal with Elektra Records and touring coast-to-coast for a total of more than 130 shows including a fourteen-show tour with a three-piece horn section and the first unofficial Phish festival at Amy’s Farm. That summer Phish also recorded their third studio album, "A Picture Of Nectar". White Crow Studios in Burlington, Vermont provided the backdrop for Nectar’s namesake with engineering duties covered by Kevin Halpin and Jon Altschiller. While Jon was still getting his start as an engineer, he was also a fan and was among the dozen-or-so tapers at The New Aud for the band's New Year's Eve concert. Thanks to his work on Nectar, Jon was allowed to set up his microphones inside the front-of-house position. He also managed to snag a then-rare soundboard patch from FOH engineer Paul Languedoc.

Fast forward to 2010 when Jon returned to work with Phish on the road as remote engineer and the seeds were sown for the release of this classic show. Twenty years later, Jon combined his audience and soundboard DAT recordings to create the matrix for The New Aud release. Mastered by Fred Kevorkian, this unique source is a proper document of the show, combining the qualities of both sources and harnessing the electricity that characterized this special performance.

Set I
  1. Possum (8:25)
  2. Foam (8:11)
  3. Sparkle (4:33)
  4. Stash (9:00)
  5. The Lizards (10:03)
  6. Guelah Papyrus (5:46)
  7. Divided Sky (12:42)
  8. Esther > (9:49)
  9. Llama (4:47)
  10. Golgi Apparatus (4:56)
Set II
  1. Brother (6:12)
  2. Bouncing Around The Room (3:43)
  3. Buried Alive > (2:28)
  4. Auld Lang Syne > (0:52)
  5. Runaway Jim (7:37)
  6. The Landlady > (3:27)
  7. Reba (11:30)
  8. Cavern (4:53)
  9. My Sweet One > (2:28)
  10. Run Like An Antelope (10:35)
  1. Wilson > (6:50)
  2. The Squirming Coil > (7:33)
  3. Tweezer > (13:13)
  4. McGrupp And The Watchful Hosemasters > (8:10)
  5. Mike’s Song > (7:42)
  6. I Am Hydrogen > (3:04)
  7. Weekapaug Groove (7:09)
  8. E: Minkin Appreciation (1:26)
  9. Lawn Boy > (2:30)
  10. Rocky Top > (2:36)
  11. Tweezer Reprise (3:16)


No comments:

Post a Comment