May 13, 2011

The Fierce & The Dead: If It Carries On Like This We Are Moving To Morecambe

Originally started as a recording experiment during the sessions for the second Matt Stevens album, the London based trio The Fierce & The Dead got a life of its on. After releasing two singles, their debut full-length If It Carries On Like This We Are Moving To Morecambe is a blend of jazz and progressive guitar. Besides Stevens signature six string sound, audio wizard Kev Feazy is riding shotgun on bass and keyboards, with Stuart Marshall laying down intricate drum parts. Nick Cave/Faust/Lydia Lunch saxophonist Terry Edwards features on two tracks.

This album is like a complex jigsaw puzzle with dozens shades of blue for the sky part of the picture. Loops and layers unfold slowly, but the trio isn't afraid to rock out - the Landcrab is two minutes of mayhem with towering crescendos that will go down with fans of Joe Satriani. Sax player Edwards adds a freaky Daddies Little Helper, after which the band realises that a breather is in order, coming up with the drone heavy Woodchip. Finishing with the tugging bass line of 10x10 and tastefully applied echo in the album's closer Andy Fox.

The Fierce & The Dead:
Matt Stevens: guitars
Kev Feazey: bass, synths, production
Stuart Marshall: drums

If It Carries On Like This We Are Moving To Morecambe is released on their own label Spencer Park Music. Buy it from the band's website. Release date: May 16. Note: album was remastered and reissued in 2016, with additional material.

  1. Flint
  2. Part 2
  3. The Wait
  4. H.R.
  5. Hotel No.6
  6. Landcrab
  7. Daddies Little Helper
  8. Woodchip
  9. 10x10
  10. Andy Fox


No comments:

Post a Comment