November 10, 2010

Gov't Mule: Mulennium

The Gov't Mule '99-00 NYE show at the Roxy Theatre in Atlanta, GA, was the last big outing for original bass player Alan Woody. His powerful attack of the four strings gave the original Mule an edge that has since been replaced with a more melodic approach.

Allen Woody

The 3CD set Mulennium contains the full show, carefully remastered form the original tapes. For historical purposes this is an essential release and a worthy souvenir of what the original Mule sounded like in concert. Guitarist Warren Haynes and Matt Abts can play up a storm while Woody stands tall holding down the deep end. The trio manages a full frontal sonic assault and is at time rushing thing, especially when they realize that is almost midnight and that the new millennium is imminent. Haynes has grown as a vocalist over the years, but during this show he kindly stepped away from the mike to make room for his hero Little Milton for the second set, Milton oozes the blues from every vein, and the trio follow his lead without missing a beat.

Most NYE shows contain lots of covers and the Mule played three classic rock songs in a row to kick off the year 2000. King Crimson's 21st Century Schizoid Man was a logical choice for way to get things going, followed by We're Not Gonna Take It (The Who) and Dazed and Confused (the Led Zeppelin version). After Little Milton has left the stage, they bring on Audley Freed (The Black Crowes), who locks in with Haynes for a two guitar front line, which works best during Sometimes Salvation (easy for Free) and an extended Simple Man.

Mulennium is released on Evil Teen Records in the USA and Macsot / Provogue Records in Europe.

Disc 1:
  1. Bad Little Doggie
  2. Lay Your Burden Down
  3. Blind Man In The Dark
  4. Life Before Insanity
  5. Larger Than Life
  6. Towering Fool
  7. Countdown Jam
  8. 21st Century Schizoid Man
  9. We're Not Gonna Take It
  10. Dazed And Confused
Disc 2:
  1. When The Blues Comes Knockin'
  2. My Dog And Me
  3. Lump On Your Stump
  4. I Can't Quit You Baby
  5. It Hurts Me Too
  6. Blues Is Alright
  7. Is It My Body?
  8. Power Of Soul

Little Milton on Tracks #1-6
Audley Freed on Tracks #7-8

Disc 3:
  1. Helter Skelter
  2. Sometimes Salvation
  3. 30 Days In The Hole
  4. End Of The Line
  5. Out Of The Rain
  6. I Shall Be Released
  7. Simple Man

Audley Freed on Tracks #1-5, 7
Robert Kearns on Tracks #3 & 6
Johnny Mosier on Tracks #5 & 6
Mark Van Allen on Tracks #5-7


No comments:

Post a Comment