September 23, 2010

Black Country Communion: Black Country Communion

Black Country Communion
photo: © Robert Knight

Black Country Communion is the latest incarnation of the supergroup phenomenon. This time it's vocalist/bassist Glenn Hughes (Deep Purple Black Sabbath, Trapeze), drummer Jason Bonham (recorded with David Gilmour and Jeff Beck, played his father's parts at the Led Zeppelin reunion concerts in 1985 and 2007), keyboard player Derek Sherinian (Dream Theater, Alice Cooper) and leading blues rock guitarist Joe Bonamassa.

The debut album Black Country Communion was recorded in ten days at Shangri-La Studios, with Hughes bringing in the bulk of the material. Kicking off with his instanyly recognizable bass rumble the listener enters an alternate universe where classic rock still reigns supreme. Hughes still has his huge rock voice and Bonamassa has internalized more music form that era than he care to remember. Bonham is all over his kit, but isn't above keeping a straightforward beat to provide a safe haven for Hughes and Bonamassa. Sherinian is the reliable sideman, adding color to black and white rock proceedings and stepping into the spotlights every now and then to show off his skills.

Standout track are the slow Stand (At The Burning Tree), that might remind you of Soundgarden in their "Superunknown" phase with a Jon Lordesque bit thrown in by Sherinian, back-to-basics rockers Black Country and The Revolution In Me and the stuttering guitar in Beggarman. Single One Last Soul got them on the radio with a tasty hook, but it pails among the other ten tracks that are celebration of ten of years of musicianship that will wow the kids and please their parents. Black Country Communion plan to be on the road in 2011.

Black Country Communion: Black Country Communion

Black Country is released on Mascot Records in the UK and Europe, and J&R Adventures in the USA. Available on CD and vinyl, and as a deluxe CD/DVD package with behind the scenes stuff and live footage of their concert at the Riverside Municipal Auditorium.

  1. Black Country
  2. One Last Soul
  3. The Great Divide
  4. Down Again
  5. Beggarman
  6. Song Of Yesterday
  7. No Time
  8. Medusa
  9. The Revolution In Me
  10. Stand (At The Burning Tree)
  11. Sista Jane
  12. Too Late For The Sun

Medusa was first recorded with Hughes' first band Trapeze in 1970. Joe Bonamassa played a vintage 1968 Gibson Les Paul for this track - as a nod to the sound of the original.


No comments:

Post a Comment