June 05, 2010

Great Divide: Reservoir

The Great Divide is a roots rock band that sounds a lot like New Monsoon with a brass and woodwinds section. Founded in Ann Arbor, Michigan, the members share a wide variety of influences, including funk, country, blues, reggae and rock.

Their debut full length Reservoir is an aptly titled collection of songs showing all those genres, messing them up and lcoking back inot the groove - and all of it is delivered with confidence. Vocalist and songwriter Teddy Grossman has enough power to float on top of the heavy instrumentation, with the gentle touch of keyboardist Jeff Leibovich serving as a the musical quarterback. RIYL: New Monsoon, Back Yard Tire Fire, The Bridge and the Ryan Montbleau Band.

Great Divide:
Teddy Grossman: vocals, guitar
Joey Gaon: lead guitar
Jeff Leibovich: keyboards
Hiro Sato: bass
Josh Teitelbaum: drums
Jake Kenowitz: trombone
Eric Schindler: saxophone

Reservoir is a self-released album. Buy it from the band's website.

Great Divide: Reservoir Tracks:
  1. Waiting
  2. Spare Any Change
  3. Meet Her In the Morning
  4. Freedom Bell
  5. Do Me Right
  6. Woah Mama
  7. Fleetwood
  8. Rainey Bethea Blues
  9. Come Back Renée
  10. Get Down
  11. Follow Me Down
  12. Waters Roll In
Live dates:
  • 06/05 St. Louis, MO
  • 06/13 Chicago, IL
  • 06/26 Traverse City, MI
  • 07/01 Chicago, IL
  • 07/09 Lacota, MI

» greatdivideband.com

No comments:

Post a Comment