May 26, 2009

Little Foot Long Foot: Harsh Words

Little Foot Long Foot
photo: Tim Fennell

Little Foot Long Foot is a duo from Toronto, Ontario, proving that you need only two players to create garage rock. And it helps if one them can come up with the music and lyrics. Singer Joan Smith takes care of that, and she plays a mean dirty guitar. Isaac Klein keeps it simple and tight on the drums, not getting in the way of his fellow member's blues rock lyrics.

Harsh Words builds upon the material they recorded for their debut EP Just About Broke. Joan Smith has strong opinions about the ├╝ber hip music press - "I'm sorry that I sing well and that I like classic rock" (King Hipster) and the trouble of finding music that fits your mood (Market Survey) geeks will have trouble dealing with the putdown song Fake Cowboys, but first and foremost Little Foot Long Foot is a power duo that puts the "r" back in "rock" - a breath of fresh air amidst all the self-important shoegaze dudes and indie noodlers.

Recommended if you like Blood Red Shoes and The Black Keys. Turn it up.

Little Foot Long Foot:
Joan Smith: vocals, guitar, organ
Isaac Klein: drums

Harsh Words is a self-released album. Buy it from the band's website.

  1. King Hipster
  2. Marriage Ain't A Promise
  3. Stripper Song
  4. Fake Cowboys
  5. Isolation Blues
  6. Two Towns Over
  7. June Bug
  8. Market Survey
  9. Thank You
  10. Half Man Half Mule
  11. No Holiday

Live dates:
  • 05/28 The Rivoli (CD release party), Toronto, Ontario
  • 06/09 Johnny B, Whitby, Ontario
  • 06/20 Irene's, Ottawa, Ontario
  • 06/23 The Rainbow, Ottawa, Ontario
  • 06/28 Reflections, Halifax, Nova Scotia
  • 07/04 The Seahorse, Halifax, Nova Scotia
  • 07/15 The Apollo, Thurder Bay, Ontario
  • 07/24 Broken City, Calgary, Alberta
  • 07/31 The Railway Club, Vancouver, British Columbia


No comments:

Post a Comment