May 18, 2009

Akron/Family: Set 'Em Wild, Set 'Em Free

photo: Sebastian Mlynarski

Akron/Family quickly established a name for themselves with their 2005 self-titled debut album. The band from Williamsport, PA, kept releasing new material maintaining the high standard of the first one. And now there is Set 'Em Wild, Set 'Em Free, a grab bag of songs exploring new grounds and beaten paths.

The band is all over the place, but all tracks can be huddled together under the neo-psychedelic rock banner. From the rhythmic assault of opener Everyone Is Guilty until the last notes of the short piano ballad Last Year the trio seems to have overcome the defection of fourth member Ryan Vanderhoof. They might be overcompensating at times in their determination to add even more odd sounds than before, but Set 'Em Wild, Set 'Em Free is an interesting chapter in their saga.

Dana Janssen: drums
Seth Olinsky: vocal, guitar
Miles Seaton: bass

Akron/Family: Set 'Em Wild, Set 'Em Free

Set 'Em Wild, Set 'Em Free is released on Dead Oceans (USA) and Crammed Discs (Europe).

  1. Everyone Is Guilty
  2. River
  3. Creatures
  4. The Alps & Their Orange Evergreen
  5. Set 'Em Free
  6. Gravelly Mountains of the Moon
  7. Many Ghosts
  8. MBF
  9. They Will Appear
  10. Sun Will Shine (Warmth of the Sunship version)
  11. Last Year


No comments:

Post a Comment