April 16, 2009

Julia Haltigan & the Hooligans: Julia Haltigan & the Hooligans

New York singer Julia Haltigan is blessed with impressive set of pipes. Thanks to that she can tackle her songs with vigour (and tenderness). Writing in the vein of the great American songbook her band The Hooligans stand tall to provide her with her forties inspired trumpet solos and the deep rumble of the stand-up bass. Their self-titled sophomore album kicks off with Knocking At The Door, a musical train ride that introduces percussionist Tony Campbell as a highly inventive drummer, guiding the band through the fast and slow bars of the song without missing beat. The bands goes country for Lost On A Salty Sea, and invokes the hey-day of night clubs cabaret era in songs I Missed the Day I Met You and the low-key Heavy Cream.

Julia Haltigan & the Hooligans are not a rock 'n' roll act, They carry on the tradition of sharp-witted lyrics wrapped a warm blanket of music that you can dance too, using jazz, folk, country and bluegrass.

Julia Haltigan & the Hooligans:
Julia Haltigan: vocals, guitar
Nat Broekman: lead guitar, vocals, cello
Troy Campbell: suitcase, cardboard box, drums
Matt Kloss: stand-up bass
Joey Ancowitz: trumpet
Emmet Haltigan: harmonica, mandolin

Julia Haltigan & the Hooligans

Julia Haltigan & the Hooligans is a self-released album. Buy it from the band's website.

  1. Knocking at The Door
  2. Lost on a Salty Sea
  3. Ready
  4. Maybe It's a Virus
  5. Hole in my Heart
  6. Where the Animals Used to Play
  7. Things
  8. She's Looking Up To You
  9. Can't Run Away
  10. I Missed the Day I Met You
  11. A Mermaid's Tail
  12. I Took it All
  13. Heavy Cream
Live dates:
  • 04/21 Union Hall, Brooklyn, NY
  • 04/22 Rodeo Bar, New York, NY
  • 04/25 Freddy’s, Brooklyn, NY
  • 04/28 11th Street Bar, New York, NY
  • 04/30 National Underground (CD Release party) New York, NY

» juliahaltigan.com
» myspace.com/juliahaltigan

No comments:

Post a Comment