March 25, 2009

Alligators: Piggy & Cups

People think grunge if you are a band based in Seattle, but there is lot more going on in the clubs of that city. The Alligators have internalized all the classic pop record they could their hands on. They added some rough edges to the breaks, and ended up with an album with catchy hooks, poetic lyrics, and dabs of tasty synth textures.

Piggy & Cups was recorded in Jason McGerr's (Death Cab For Cutie) Two Sticks Audio and in the comfort of Alligators' own home. It's difficult to figure out where they recorded what, but they were obviously at ease when they laid down the tracks. File under melodic pop rock.

Kristian Arper: drums, vocals
Daniel Lewis: synthesizers
Tyler Lewis: bass, vocals
Bradley Pooler: guitar
Joshua Trembley: vocals, guitar

Alligators: Piggy & Cups

Piggy & Cups is released on the band's drummer Applehouse Records.

  1. Where Does It Hide
  2. Mama, Stop
  3. Original Fear
  4. If You Want To
  5. Why Aren't You Weeping (All In Your World)
  6. The Conqueror
  7. Be The Only One
  8. Tree Fort Night
  9. Snow Children
  10. Way I
  11. Magic Woman
Live dates:
  • 03/26 Berbati’s Pan, Portland, OR
  • 04/07 The Nectar Lounge Seattle, WN
  • 04/11 The Dome Bremerton, WN
  • 05/12 The Fun House (w/ Media), Seattle, WN


No comments:

Post a Comment