May 25, 2008

Rush: Snakes & Arrows Live

photo: Andrew MacNaughtan

With the release of Snakes & Arrows in 2007 Canadian symphonic prog rock trio Rush proved they could still reinvent themselves. They took the new material on the road for an extensive world tour. The two shows at the Ahoy in Rotterdam, The Netherlands (October 14-15) were recorded for a live album.

Rush: Snakes & Arrows Live

Snakes & Arrows Live is a 27 songs double album that is more than just a tour souvenir. Geddy Lee, Alex Lifeson and Neil Peart go to the core of their musical prowess, attacking the tempo changes with glee and confidence. They are back on form, and have avoided the oldies act bin. Most of the songs of the studio album were included in the set, sometimes in a radical revised arrangements. Recommended listening for the prog rock crowd, who can appreciate lengthy workouts and impeccable musicianship.

Snakes & Arrows Live is released on Anthem Records in conjunction with Atlantic Records.

Disc 1
  1. Limelight
  2. Digital Man
  3. Entre Nous
  4. Mission
  5. Freewill
  6. The Main Monkey Business
  7. The Larger Bowl
  8. Secret Touch
  9. Circumstances
  10. Between the Wheels
  11. Dreamline
  12. Far Cry
  13. Workin' Them Angels
  14. Armor and Sword
Disc 2
  1. Spindrift
  2. The Way the Wind Blows
  3. Subdivisions
  4. Natural Science
  5. Witch Hunt
  6. Malignant Narcissism – De Slagwerker
  7. Hope
  8. Distant Early Warning
  9. The Spirit of Radio
  10. Tom Sawyer
  11. Encore: One Little Victory
  12. A Passage to Bangkok
  13. YYZ


No comments:

Post a Comment