May 21, 2024

John Cale: "Ship Of Fools - The Island Albums" box set in July

John Cale's acclaimed three-album early Seventies run will be available again on Ship Of Fools - The Island Albums, a 3CD compilation in a clamshell box. It will be released on July 26 by Esoteric Recordings (ECLEC32881), an imprint of British label Cherry Red Records.

It contains the three albums he recorded for Island - Fear, Slow Dazzle and Helen Of Troy - in their original running order, with bonus tracks at the end of each disc. All tracks are remastered.

The set is available for pre-order here.


  1. Fear Is A Man's Best Friend
  2. Buffalo Ballet
  3. Barracuda
  4. Emily
  5. Ship Of Fools
  6. Gun
  7. The Man Who Couldn't Afford To Orgy
  8. You Know More Than I Know
  9. Momamma Scuba
    Bonus track:
  10. Sylvia Said


  1. Mr. Wilson
  2. Taking It All Away
  3. Dirty Ass Rock 'n' Roll
  4. Darling I Need You
  5. Rollaroll
  6. Heartbreak Hotel
  7. Ski Patrol
  8. I'm Not The Loving Kind
  9. Guts
  10. The Jeweller
    Bonus tracks:
  11. All I Want Is You
  12. Bamboo Floor
  13. The Jeweller (alternate version)


  1. My Maria
  2. Helen Of Troy
  3. China Sea
  4. Engine
  5. Save Us
  6. Cable Hogue
  7. I Keep A Close Watch
  8. Pablo Picasso
  9. Leaving It Up To You
  10. Baby, What You Want Me To Do?
  11. Sudden Death
    Bonus tracks:
  12. Coral Moon
  13. You & Me
  14. Mary Lou

The set contains both versions of The Jeweller: the original runs for 5:07, while the CD version on The Island Years 2CD from 1996 was shortened to 4:11.

Sylvia Said was originally released in 1974 as the B-side of The Man Who Couldn't Afford To Orgy single. Note: this track was remixed, so it is not the same as on the single.

All I Want Is You and Bamboo Floor from the Slow Dazzle sessions.

You & Me is a previously unreleased track from the Helen Of Troy sessions.

Coral Moon replaced Leaving It Up to You, because it mentioned Sharon Tate, wife of film director Roman Polanksi, who was killed on August 9, 1969 by the Charles Manson gang.

Mary Lou taken from the Guts compilation album.

» John Cale on Facebook
» Fear Is A Man's Best Friend - John Cale

No comments:

Post a Comment