September 04, 2023

The Garment District: Flowers Telegraphed to All Parts of the World

photo: Nicole Czapinski

American psych pop band The Garment District rotates around the cousins Jennifer Baron (The Ladybug Transistor) and Lucy Blehar who set out to record a set of sprawling songs that are allowed to grow slowly. On the new album Flowers Telegraphed to All Parts of the World Baron uses everything she has learned as a songwriter, putting a distorted guitar way up front of dig into her impressive collection of vintage keyboards and synths to create textures that are dreamy, but not sweet. Case in point: the subtle instrumental Seldom Search Arch wherein the lead motif takes its time to reach an almost upbeat middle-eight before going back to a slightly harsher repetition of the first part.

Two-part harmonies keep it all together for a journey into a parallel universe where the late 60s and early 70s never really ended in tracks like Left On Coast and The Starfish Song. The Garment District are stitching bits and pieces together to create patterns that sound familiar, but aren't. There is always something extra going on and following them into a maze (Moon Pale and Moon Gold) or enjoy a bit of danceable avant-garde where Jumble Hole Clough's Colin Robinson meets Bach (Moon Pale and Moon Gold) is the best way to fully appreciate their handiwork. They either sound like no one else, or a whole bunch of other acts thrown in together. The title of the album's closing track, The Instrument That Plays Itself, sums up their modus operandi pretty accurately.

The Garment District:
Jennifer Baron: guitar, organ, electric piano, tambourine, vocals
Lucy Blehar: vocals
Alex Korshin: vocals
Dan Koshuter: guitar, vocals
Corry Drake: bass
Greg Langel: synthesizer, guitar
Shivika Asthana: drums
Sean Finn: drums

The Garment District: Flowers Telegraphed to All Parts of the World

Flowers Telegraphed to All Parts of the World will be released on orange vinyl (500 copies) via Happy Happy Birthday to Me records. The deluxe version comes with a button, sticker, mini compact mirror, and two-colour mini poster Release date: September 22.

  1. Left On Coast
  2. A Street Called Finland
  3. Following Me
  4. Seldom Search Arch
  5. The Starfish Song
  6. The Island of Stability
  7. Moon Pale and Moon Gold
  8. Cooling Station
  9. The Instrument That Plays Itself


No comments:

Post a Comment