June 12, 2023

The Hannah Barberas: Fantastic Tales of the Sea

English DIY quartet The Hannah Barberas named themselves after the animation studio Hanna-Barbera that created classics like The Flintstones, The Yogi Bear Show, Top Cat, and The Jetsons. It makes sense, given their quirky sense of humour that is all over their lyrics. Their new album Fantastic Tales of the Sea is an upbeat collection of songs, with heartfelt pleas to take it easy (An Insatiable Lust for Laziness) and the relief when unwanted visitors have finally left the premises, so it is OK to restart the festivities with the close circle of friends, and do it right this time (Party from Hell).

Taking cues from bands like The Kinks and Tugboat Captain they serve a 12-course meal of folk, pop and a bit of rock, that is quite tasty. It isn't mandatory to sing along, but it's hard not too. Failing that, toe tapping and grinning like a Cheshire cat can not be avoided.

The Hannah Barberas:
Lucy Formolli: vocals
Damien Devaney – Guitar and vocals
Ian Evans – Bass and vocals
Matthew Chalkley – Drums and vocals
Special guests:
Colin Jones: trumpet, trombone and french horn Trevor Fountain: saxophone on "You’re So?!" and "An Insatiable Lust for Laziness"
Simon Winter: additional guitar on "Fantastic Tales of the Sea"

Fantastic Tales of the Sea is a self-released album. Buy it from their website. Hand-numbered limited edition LP, on translucent blue vinyl via Spinout Nuggets / Doo Lang Records. Cassette via Gazer Tapes.

  1. You're So?!
  2. You're a Camera
  3. Ugly Cry
  4. Party from Hell
  5. Love Them? Tell Them!
  6. An Insatiable Lust for Laziness
  7. Fast Friends
  8. When You Were My Boyfriend
  9. Butterflies
  10. Fantastic Tales of the Sea
  11. Happy Winter
  12. We Have the Stars

Live date:
  • 06/30 London, UK @ The Amersham Arms

» The Hannah Barberas on Facebook

No comments:

Post a Comment