June 27, 2023

Modern Nature: Murmuration

Composer Jack Cooper always gives the musicians of his band Modern Nature plenty of opportunity to contribute to his meandering songs. Murmuration, the lead single from the forthcoming new album No Fixed Point In Space, moves slowly, with a guitar and drums leading the way. As the track processes more instruments join in, making it listening experience not unlike seeing the contours of a photo showing up in the dark room. Woodwinds, brass and strings all work together to create a free flowing, almost abstract, tapestry of sounds.

Modern Nature:
Jack Cooper: guitar, piano, vocals
Chris Abrahams: fender rhodes, piano
Mira Benjamin: violin
Ed Deegan: engineering, tape loops
Dominic Lash: contrabass
Anton Lukoszevieze: cello
Heather Roche: bass clarinet
Julie Tippetts: vocals
Jeff Tobias: alto saxophone
Jim Wallis: drums, percussion, dulcimer
Alex Ward: clarinet

Murmuration is released via Bella Union. The No Fixed Point In Space album is available for pre-order here (vinyl, CD, digital). Release date: September 29.

UK live dates:
  • 09/30 Murmuration: A Festival Of New Music - Newport, Essex
  • 12/11 Hare and Hounds – Birmingham
  • 12/12 The Smokehouse – Ipswich
  • 12/13 Lewes Con Club – Lewes
  • 12/14 Rough Trade – Bristol
  • 12/15 Café Oto – London
  • 12/16 Café Oto – London
  • 12/17 Brudenell Social Club – Leeds
  • 12/18 Glad Café – Glasgow
  • 12/19 The Carlton Club - Manchester

» modernnature.band

No comments:

Post a Comment