April 12, 2023

pMad: Who Why Where What

Irish musician Paul Dillon is keeping Gothic post-punk alive on Who Why Where What, the debut album by his one-man band project pMad. The bass is upfront, grumbling and snarling, serving as the foundation for his vocals that sound like a hybrid of Ian Dury, Andrew Eldritch, and Madness singer Suggs (yes, really). Dillon is obviously not pleased how things are going and he asks himself if he should do more to get out the mess he is in. Who the fuck is he? He has no definite answer and it bothers him a lot. On the upside: without his predicament the superb I Am would never be realized.

Fighting his inner demons and downing medication that does not do the trick make it a dark listening experience. As a soul-searching journey he pulls no punches - a line like "everybody loves me, but me" in Except Me hits hard. Dillon must have spent countless hours listening to bands like the Sister of Mercy and The Mission, but also slightly more optimistic peers such as The Smiths and Echo and the Bunnymen. The full version of Sisters will find its way into the playlists of dressed-in-black misfits who need a shot of recognition.

Who Why Where What is a self-released album (CD, digital). Buy it from his website.

  1. Who Am I
  2. Broken
  3. Medicine
  4. Except Me
  5. Sisters
  6. Youth
  7. Horror
  8. I Am
  9. Who Am I (pMad reMix)
  10. Youth (pMad reMix)
  11. Sisters (Keira Mix)
  12. Horror (hoMe Mix)
  13. I Am (Me reMix)

» pmadtheband.com

No comments:

Post a Comment