December 17, 2022

Baby Scream: Castell de Pop

Juan Pablo Mazzola

Argentinian power pop musician Juan Pablo Mazzola had no intention to actually release the mostly acoustic tracks that make up Castell de Pop, the new album by his Baby Scream project, but lo and behold: the folks at Spanish niche label Exile Records convinced him to let them put it out on vinyl.

After trying to break out as an artist for many years on end, he was ready to pack it in. Critical acclaim did not translate to bigger sales. But still he continued to write and record, because being creative is an itch that needs to be scratched. Since the material was never intended to be heard by anyone except a close circle of friends, the songs sound relaxed and spontaneous. He did not polish things up much, but let his fingers do the talking. It is a collection of intimate songs by a man whose knack for conjuring power pop melodies with a hint of glam is in full force, even at a more subdued level. This release has made him write some more, so fingers crossed that those songs will see the light of day as well in the near future.

Baby Scream: Castell de Pop

Castell de Pop is released via Exile Records (vinyl, digital).

  1. Castaway
  2. Kill Your Idols
  3. Back Home (ft Ky Anto)
  4. Chillin'
  5. The Hurt and The Weak
  6. Explosions
  7. Panic Room
  8. Here
  9. Castell de Pop
  10. Spirits


No comments:

Post a Comment