October 31, 2022

Katie Lass: Hypnopomp

Detroit art-rock artist Katie Lass goes all out with sounds and textures on her debut album Hypnopomp, throwing out all of the usual "proper" recording tricks and familiar construction bricks of a song out of the window. Combining elements of dream pop, shoegaze, noise and psych rock she has constructed a truly unique collection of songs. Imagine Syd Barrett attending a party thrown by the cast of Alice in Wonderland, with the members Soft Machine and Can pretty near the top of the guest list.

Twinkling keyboards are teaming up with Pixies-alike atonal surf guitar. There is a lot of echo and reverb, and bleeding of the tracks is welcomed an not corrected by Warren Defever of Third Man Mastering who rose to the challenge to keep all the weirdness intact. Carefully sidestepping the pitfalls marked "self-indulgence" and "art-for-art's sake", Lass has made an album that both challenges and invites the listener to go in at the deep end and explore an alternate universe, wherein a sound can have a colour, and a colour can emanate a sound.

Katie Lass: Hypnopomp

Hypnopomp is released via Happy Happy Birthday to Me records and Remove Records (vinyl - green marbled, black, CD, digital). Release date: November 4th.

  1. Can You Take Me Back
  2. Luster
  3. Hypnopompamus
  4. Ctan6-!
  5. Shadow On the Shoreline
  6. Nonpop
  7. Sunshine1 (headspunstar)
  8. Claw
  9. Seaweedhead
  10. Pin & Ripple
  11. Porous Rags
  12. Long Window
  13. Eidolon Orbit
  14. Sugar Chasm

» Katie Lass on Instagram

No comments:

Post a Comment