April 27, 2022

Beachdog: Beachdog


It's not that difficult to play really fucking loud, but is quite hard to make it sound great. Dutch hard-core grunge quintet Beachdog have mastered the art on their self-titled debut album, a well-executed sonic assault that will bring back smiles (and mosh pits) to the rock clubs. Led by former John Coffey singer David Achter de Molen they tear through ten songs in half an hour, inserting a crunchy guitar solo (Milk) and muffled vocals (Interlude A: Gazing) to give the crowd an opportunity to catch their breath after being exposed to screams (The Patient) that will haunt singing coaches in their dreams.

Besides all the fun they are obviously having, Beachdog are a serious outfit, urging listeners to Fight Evil, Read Books. Their debut single Crawl in Pieces is a neo-grunge anthem a la Soundgarden. Achter De Molen grew up in a heavy-handed Christian environment, until he discovered the cooler, outside world at age 15. And with Good Morning - Robin Piso (DeWolff) weighs in with a great organ part - he says goodbye to a loved one in the only way he knows how: singing his heart out, rising above the din of a band firing on all cylinders.

David Achter de Molen: vocals
Ruben Lisman: guitar
Mex van Gestel: drums
Vincent Kuipers: bass
Sybrand Hiemstra: guitar

Beachdog: Beachdog

Beachdog is released via Snowstar Records (vinyl, CD, digital). Release date: April 29.

  1. Swords Up In The Air
  2. Dog
  3. Milk
  4. Interlude A: Gazing
  5. The Patient
  6. Fight Evil, Read Books
  7. Beggar
  8. Interlude B: Brick
  9. Crawl In Pieces
  10. Good Morning ft. Robin Piso

Live dates:
  • 04/28 EKKO, Utrecht
  • 04/30 De Helling, Utrecht
  • 05/12 013 @ Cul de Sac, Tilburg
  • 05/20 Burgerweeshuis, Deventer
  • 05/27 Merleyn, Nijmegen
  • 05/29 Melkweg, Amsterdam

» beachdogmusic.nl

No comments:

Post a Comment