March 14, 2022

Mint Biscuit: Sweat Baby Sweat

Guitarist Richard Thomas is a rock mode on Sweat Baby Sweat, the latest release of his one-man project Mint Biscuit. He pushed the sound his Gretsch through a bunch of amp effects and distortion, going for a raw and punchy vibe that will strike a chord with fans of garage rock and grunge.

Whether he goes for aggressive simplicity in Electromatic Breakdown or delivers a power pop excursion with Froggyhopping, Thomas throws in a couple of notes that don't seem to fit, but in fact they actually spice things up. No Guitar Playing In The Library could be mistaken for a Mike Oldfield demo.

Taking into account it is once again recorded on a shoestring budget, this new collection of instrumentals sounds damn fine and confident. He has found a tone that he is comfortable with, but it also gives him plenty of room to experiment further with this new approach.

Mint Biscuit: Sweat Baby Sweat

Sweat Baby Sweat is a self-released album. Buy it from his website.

  1. Well Dig It
  2. Slow Roller
  3. Orange Shoes Blues
  4. Electromatic Breakdown
  5. Everton Mint
  6. Blankets
  7. Froggyhopping
  8. No Guitar Playing In The Library
  9. More Blankets Required
  10. Three Stars On A Branch
  11. Stompington Stomp
  12. Sticking Together
  13. I Fired All The Pigs


No comments:

Post a Comment