October 06, 2021

The Embryos: National Absurdatory

After releasing a couple of EPs Chicago based indie quartet band The Embryos are ready for the next step with their first full-length, National Absurdatory. It is a nice collection of happy-sad tunes, touching base with power pop, neo-psychedelia, blues and - coming out of left field - funk. All members like to get a shot at handling the vocals, harmonizing like it is going out of style.

The album's main theme is relationships. And while that ground might have been covered ad nauseam, they manage to tackle the age-old problem for men to figure out what women want in You Can Be a Mystery with gusto. If everything fails, it is easy to blame it on the working of the Cosmic Wheel. Don't be surprised when they use the short instrumental The Funky Embryo as a launch pad for an extended jam.

The Embryos:
Brian Daley: vocals, guitar, bass guitar
Finn Swingley: vocals, guitar, piano, Wurlitzer piano, Rhoads piano, percussion
George T. Drag: vocals, guitar, bass guitar, keyboards, harmonica
Joe Daley: vocals, drums, percussion

The Embryos: National Absurdatory

National Absurdatory is a self-released album. Buy it from their website. CD available at Kool Kat Musik.

  1. Morning Birds
  2. The Funky Embryo
  3. Rattlesnakes
  4. Someone to Hold Me
  5. Spend Tonight
  6. Catching Fire
  7. Twisted In My Game
  8. You Can Be a Mystery
  9. Cosmic Wheel
  10. Rolling Wheels
  11. Smoldering Remains

Live date:
  • 10/09 Chicago, IL @ Montrose Saloon
    (album release show w/ Furious Frank, Joe Rian and the A.M. Drinkers)

» The Embryos on Facebook

HCTF review of SCV3.

No comments:

Post a Comment