October 20, 2021

Ilsha: Dive

Dutch folk band Ilsha, led by singer-songwriter Ilse Hamelink, only need five songs to make a lasting impression. Their debut album Dive is a memorable trip through emotions by way of intricate multi-layered compositions that sparkle and shine. Using nature as metaphores Hamelink bares her soul, getting to the core of the things loves and fears.

Carefully sidestepping the pitfalls of New Age-y noodling, she covers the same musical grounds that were explored by Kate Bush and Dead Can Dance. It's all about dynamics and harmonies, a gentle group conservation wherein the musicians both allow each other space and join forces to create a kaleidoscopic sonic experience.

Ilse Hamelink: vocals, guitar and other instruments
Floyd Atema: drums, piano, guitar
Gerrit van der Scheer: piano, guitar
Aino Vehmasto: backing vocals
Anna Berkhof: backing vocals

Dive is released on Tiny Room Records (vinyl, digital). The LP is a handmade limited edition - 100 copies 45RPM 12". There are 3 front sleeves to choose from and it comes with a pencil drawing. Release date: October 29.

  1. Dive
  2. Mountains
  3. Dear Tree
  4. Shimmering Lakes
  5. Black Hands

» Ilsha on Facebook

No comments:

Post a Comment