September 26, 2021

Mint Biscuit: Hot On The Heels Of...

Welsh guitarist Richard Thomas released his Quitting The Biscuits EP earlier this year, he stated that it would be last of his stack of tracks, amassed over the years for his one-man Mint Biscuit. Well, he lied. Hot On The Heels Of... is another collection of instrumentals that he found trawling the dusty corners of his hard drive. The tracks were cleaned up with Audacity.

Thomas loves to mess around with harmonics on this one (Happy Tune, Total Harmonium). He tries his hand to come up with a power pop composition, with the oddly named but highly effective McDonalds And Red Wine. Eagle-eyed readers will have noticed that E By Gum was already released on the We Are Sailing EP, but this version is shorter and sounds a bit clearer.

His use of a bare bones recording set-up obviously has its limitations, but trying to put down this kind of intimacy in a state-of-the-art studio is nigh impossible. Don a pair of (half-decent) headphones and make believe that he is sitting right in front of you, playing songs about getting lost in the Bolivian mountains (Tiramisu Altiplano) and the sounds of nature closer to home (Cornfield Whisper).

Hot On The Heels Of... is a self-released album. Buy it from his website. The cover art has a photo of a Fiat 126 BIS, the kind of car his dad used to drive in.

  1. City On Lockdown
  2. Total Harmonium
  3. Monster Mash
  4. E By Gum
  5. Happy Tune
  6. McDonalds And Red Wine
  7. Red Campion Super Champion
  8. Miller's Finger
  9. Healing Better
  10. Cornfield Whisper
  11. Solway Mariner's Blues
  12. Deep
  13. Raindrops
  14. Tiramisu Altiplano


HCTF review of Blues For The Red Cow

No comments:

Post a Comment